Cold Stairs

      Mark Petersen

Cold Stairs

Winner of an Honorable Mention Virginia Tech Literary Award, this story takes place in Eastern Kentucky and is based on what might have been a true ghost story. I consider this to be my best finished piece, and I look forward to your feedback. Enjoy!What if you found out your whole life was a lie, and that was after you were turned into a vampire?"I don't know what blood tastes like to a human. I'd never even licked a tiny drop of it from a pricked finger, let alone suck on a bleeding cut. Now it's my only food source." Meet teenage runaway Ellie. She's snarky, witty, funny, and has issues with her mother, just like any other 17-year-old girl.She's also a vampire.Days before her 18th birthday, the mysterious and handsome immortal Christian, turned her into a creature that she loathes, forcing her to leave her old life behind forever and move to London. Thrust into the supernatural world, full of magic and danger, Ellie doesn't want to be a killer.She doesn't even like to drink blood.But Christian wasn't completely honest about why he'd taken a romantic interest in her, and he wasn't the only one keeping things from her, either.Her mother was hiding the same secret.Truth is: Ellie was never an ordinary teenager, and now, she's no ordinary teen vampire. When she discovers why she's not like others of her kind, why she protects humans instead of hunting them, she realises that her life is about to change all over again.And the world as she knows it will never be the same...Poison Blood, Book 2: Absolution is also free to download and answers some of the questions raised in Book 1, while asking many more...What Readers Said About Poison Blood, Book 1: Revelation'What great book' 5-stars~ B&N Nook Review'This is definitely not a soppy vampire romance! As usual with Neha Yazmin's novels, things are never as they seem.' 5-stars~ Amazon UK Review'Awesome. This was great, couldn't put it down.' 5-stars~ iBooks Australia Review'I am definitely hooked on the Poison Blood series. This is a character-driven story. Neha's characters' depths are what drive her stories, each with their hidden secrets.' 5-stars~ Smashwords ReviewBook Details:Length: A 29,000-word paranormal urban fantasy novel with added bonus contentGenre: Teen & YA Paranormal Romance / YA Vampire Romance / Teen Paranormal Fantasy / YA Urban Fantasy / Young Adult & Teen Science Fiction & Fantasy / Fantasy Romance / Paranormal Urban Fantasy / Supernatural Romance / Supernatural & Fantasy Mood: Dark / Humorous / Coming of ageContent: No violence / No explicit sex scenes / No eroticaAudience: For Teens / Young Adults / New Adults / AdultsRecommended for: Readers that love all things vampires, slayers and witches!This book is suitable for fans of Twilight, The Mortal Instruments and A Shade of Vampire and readers that love all things related to the Chosen One, vampires, slayers and witches!
Read online
  • 711

    And There Were No Cars on the Road

      Mark Petersen

And There Were No Cars on the Road

He goes out on a late night drive in the wintry woods to relax and free his mind, but after he becomes stranded his mind is anything but free..."The Perfect Christian Romance Story for the Ages" Christian Romance... Sometimes life leaves you devastated, but God will always have a plan for you. Karen has her life turned upside down when her six year relationship ends suddenly, but God has a different life set out for her... She meets Gage in a remote village she volunteers to practice medicine in and sparks fly, but Gage is keeping his distance... Can Karen eventually breakthrough?
Read online
  • 678

    Tom Meets the Devil

      Mark Petersen

Tom Meets the Devil

A short story influenced by classic American folk-horror tales, in which a small boy Tom meets the devil in the woods. This was an experimental and fun piece for me to write, and I hope you enjoy it.
Read online
  • 539

    Quickly In and Quickly Out

      Mark Petersen

Quickly In and Quickly Out

Quickly in and quickly out. That was the plan. It had been over an hour.Scar Tissue is the first novel in a projected series of detective/mysteries in the spirit of Raymond Chandler and Robert B. Parker. Robert “Lucky” Lucas, a fifty year old retired police Detective and widow from Southern California, has relocated in San Francisco to be near his son’s family. As a favor to his daughter-in-law Kathleen, Lucas reluctantly agrees to speak with Ray Rhodes, a childhood friend with prison record who has been arrested on weapons and drug charges, but adamantly proclaims his innocence. During his investigation, Lucas becomes convinced Rhodes is the victim of jealousy and crooked cops, and is trapped in the middle of a disturbing and dangerous family history, a history that will lead to murder and attempt on Lucas’ life. Mark Gummere lives in San Francisco, teaches classes in Cinema Studies, and is a former San Francisco Private Investigator. The second Lucky Lucas novel, The Damage, has just been released, and is also available on Smashwords as a downloadable ebook. The third Lucky Lucas Novel is underway.
Read online
  • 389

    Cellar Door

      Mark Petersen

Cellar Door

Carl finds a dead body while exploring an abandoned house a few days after Halloween. Convinced he is being haunted by an evil spirit he brings his skeptical roommate along to check it out.Lily's Reprieve is book one of the Blackstone Trilogy, and is a paranormal bad boy romance. Lily Childs had made her peace with dying. If her leukemia didn’t kill her, then serial killer Danny Jordan certainly would. But then Aidan Knight crashes through her balcony door and saves her life. Finding herself hopelessly attracted to the handsome and mysterious billionaire, and desperate to remain in his life, she accepts his offer to be her guardian. Time-travelling vigilante Aidan Knight had made a life out of saving damsels in distress, and then walking away without looking back. But after saving Lily, he couldn’t stay away. Like a moth to a flame, he kept returning to her. But would she still want him if she found out the truth about him and his deadly talents?
Read online
  • 307