Burning Bright

Burning Bright

Helen Dunmore

Literature & Fiction / Science Fiction & Fantasy / Poetry

Nadine, a sixteen-year-old runaway new to London, is set up in a decaying Georgian house by her Finnish lover, Kai. Slowly, she begins to suspect that Kai's plans for her have little to do with love. 'Be careful,' warns Enid, the elderly sitting tenant in the house, who knows all about survival and secrets. And when Nadine discovers Kai's true intentions, Enid's warning takes on a terrible and prophetic quality.
Read online
  • 878
Shadow of a Dark Queen

Shadow of a Dark Queen

Raymond E. Feist

Science Fiction & Fantasy

“An epic reading experience.” —San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
Read online
  • 877

The Day After Tomorrow

The Day After Tomorrow

Allan Folsom

Mystery & Thrillers

A thriller which weaves together three stories of international intrigue. In the first a doctor has to confront his father's killer, in the second a detective investigates a series of horrific murders, and in the third an international organization devises a masterplan of apocalyptic dimensions.
Read online
  • 871
Sable

Sable

Karen Hesse

Children's Books / Literature & Fiction

Tate is overjoyed when a scrawny mutt turns up in the yard one day. She even persuades Mam and Pap to let her keep Sable, named for her dark, silky fur. But before long, the dog begins to cause trouble with the neighbors and Mam and Pap decide the dog must go. But Tate doesn't give up easily . . . and neither does Sable.
Read online
  • 859
It Had to Be You

It Had to Be You

Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Literature & Fiction / Romance

What if a woman who knows nothing about sports inherits a professional football team? The Windy City definitely isn't ready for Phoebe Somerville, the outrageous York knockout who’s taking over their home town team. And Phoebe is definitely not prepared for the Stars' head coach Dan Calebow, a sexist jock taskmaster with a one-track mind. This is the book that began it all. The Chicago Stars are about to take the field... and they’re not the only ones playing for keeps.
Read online
  • 859

The Informers

The Informers

Bret Easton Ellis

Satire / Fiction

Set in Los Angeles, in the recent past. The birthplace and graveyard of American myths and dreams, the city harbours a group of people trapped between the beauty of their surroundings and their own moral impoverishment. This novel is a chronicle of their voices.
Read online
  • 855
Bringing the Heat

Bringing the Heat

Mark Bowden

Nonfiction

Bringing the Heat is the story of one team's season-long campaign for the NFL championship, told through the personal stories of the men on the field and the coaches, managers, and owner on the sidelines. The team is the 1992 Philadelphia Eagles, a group of players assembled in the iconoclastic image of their former head coach Buddy Ryan. They are known throughout the league for their ferocious defense and for the otherworldly talents of their quarterback Randall Cunningham. Award-winning journalist Mark Bowden gets deep inside the world of professional football in a way no writer has ever done before, with an insightful and hilarious portrait of one of the most exciting teams ever to play the game. He spares none of the game's ugliness - the greed, the racism, and the often sadistic violence - while capturing the beauty of athleticism at its highest level, the courage of men who face each play knowing that one bad hit can end a career, and above all the exultant glory of victory that inspires their struggle to be the best.
Read online
  • 840
Wings of the Morning

Wings of the Morning

Lori Wick

Historical Fiction / Christian Fiction

Victoria “Smokey” Simmons stands silently on deck as her father’s body is lowered into the Atlantic, asking God for the strength she will need to command the Aramis alone. Not wanting to remain at sea forever, Smokey dreams of the time when she can trade her life aboard ship for a home and family. When she meets another captain, Dallas Knight, Smokey believes her dream will finally come true. But circumstances beyond their control and the schemes of a cunning pirate threaten to destroy this young couple’s hope for the future. Wings of the Morning carries readers on a tender journey of love in which painful events become lasting blessings in the Father’s care.
Read online
  • 839
Remembrance

Remembrance

Jude Deveraux

Romance / Contemporary / Historical Fiction

Bestselling romance writer Hayden Lane has found her soul mate - or rather, created him: he's her latest fictional hero. And she's totally obsessed with him. Barely noticing when her real-life fiance breaks their engagement, she visits a psychic to learn more about him - and is told that in a past life Hayden was Lady de Grey, a promiscuous woman of Edwardian England. Hayden can't resist submitting to a hypnotist's magic. But the trick goes wrong, and instead of merely remembering her past as Lady de Grey, Hayden is living it. Now she will discover quite a different story about a woman history considered a trollop, a spectacular, brooding man, and the rapturous love that would be hers if she dared open her heart to the most mysterious adventure of all.
Read online
  • 837

Driver's Ed

Driver's Ed

Caroline B. Cooney

Young Adult / Mystery & Thrillers / Romance

The universal experience for most high school students is learning to drive and getting their driver’s license. Add breathlessly plotted romance and an accident and you have a poignant and realistic novel. Remy Martin prays to the God of Driver’s Education that she will get to drive today. She doesn’t know where she’s going, but she knows one thing . . . she is going to get there fast. Morgan Campbell had been standing on the threshold of 16 and getting his driver’s license ever since he could remember. But deep into the first crush of his life, thinking of nothing but girls, Morgan forgot what driving was all about. This poignant novel about responsibility and consequences is as convincing as it is irresistible.
Read online
  • 837
When Christ and His Saints Slept

When Christ and His Saints Slept

Sharon Kay Penman

Literature & Fiction / Mystery

A.D. 1135. As church bells tolled for the death of England's King Henry I, his barons faced the unwelcome prospect of being ruled by a woman: Henry's beautiful daughter Maude, Countess of Anjou. But before Maude could claim her throne, her cousin Stephen seized it. In their long and bitter struggle, all of England bled and burned. Sharon Kay Penman's magnificent fifth novel summons to life a spectacular medieval tragedy whose unfolding breaks the heart even as it prepares the way for splendors to come—the glorious age of Eleanor of Aquitaine and the Plantagenets that would soon illumine the world.
Read online
  • 835